How to Get Texas Cannabis Cultivation License?
If you want to grow cannabis in Texas, you’ll need a license. A medical marijuana card isn’t enough. You’ll need to submit an application, pay fees and provide evidence of your compliance with state law. Also, make sure that your facility meets the regulations set by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
What Happens If You Grow Cannabis Without a License?
If you grow cannabis without a license, you could be arrested. You could also be fined and lose your license, property and business–not to mention your home and car if they were purchased with money from illegal activities.
Licensed grower VS medical cannabis program participant
A licensed grower must be operating a licensed premises, which is defined as “a place where cannabis plants are cultivated, harvested and processed.”
To obtain a medical cannabis program participant registration card (MCPPC), you must submit an application to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
Get Your Application Ready
The first step in the process of getting a Texas cannabis cultivation license is to make sure you have all of the required documents. You must submit:
- A completed application form (Form 4A-100) with accompanying documents
- A copy of your driver’s license or government issued ID card
- Proof of residency in Texas, such as a utility bill or lease agreement. It must be dated within 60 days prior to submission.
Obtain Licenses and Permits
To get a Texas cannabis cultivation license https://dr-weedy.com/how-to-get-texas-cannabis-cultivation-license/, you will need to apply for one. You can do this through the state’s Office of the Attorney General website.
Once you have applied, you will receive an email confirming your application has been received. A representative from the OAG will then contact you within two weeks with instructions on how to proceed with the rest of the process.
In addition to applying for a license and permit from the state government, applicants must also obtain permits from both city and county governments where their facility is located if they wish to grow marijuana legally in Texas; however, these may not be required depending on whether or not there are any ordinances against cannabis cultivation in those areas (some counties do not allow any type of marijuana cultivation).
Submit the Application, Pay the Fees and Wait for Approval
- Submit the Application, Pay the Fees and Wait for Approval
You can submit your application online at www.texascca.com or by mail to Texas Cannabis Cultivation Licensing Program, PO Box 12157 Austin TX 78711-2157. The fee is $5 per acre of land being licensed and must be paid by check or money order made payable to “Texas Department of Public Safety”. The application must include:
- Name of Applicant(s)
- Address where they reside
- Phone number where they can be reached during business hours
- Email address where they can be reached during business hours * Social Security Number (SSN) or Employer Identification Number (EIN) for each person listed above
Now that you have a better understanding of what to expect, here’s what you need to do:
- First, fill out the application and provide all required documents.
- Then, wait for approval or rejection by email (it could take up to 30 days). If approved, pay your application fee ($1,500) and license fee ($3k). You will also need to submit an operating plan with details on how you’ll operate your facility and grow cannabis plants as well as financial records showing your ability to meet startup costs.
The cannabis industry is a booming business in Texas, and with legalization on the horizon, it’s going to get even bigger. If you want to get involved in this lucrative industry, then it’s important that you know how to obtain a license for growing cannabis. We hope our guide has helped answer some questions about getting started with this process!